justin amash

The 10 Republicans Who Voted Against The House GOP Budget

by BRIAN BEUTLER, TPM  |  published on March 24, 2013

Here are the 10 Republicans who voted against the House GOP budget.

Reps. Justin Amash (R-MI), Paul Broun (R-GA), Rick Crawford (R-AR), Randy Forbes (R-VA), Chris Gibson (R-NY), Phil Gingrey (R-GA), Joe Heck (R-NV), Walter Jones (R-NC), Thomas Massie (R-KY), and David McKinley (R-WV).

The members are a mix of GOP moderates and conservatives, reflecting the fact that the budget remains a political lightning rod in swing districts, but that the conservative tilt of the GOP conference still dissatisfies some of the party’s more radical members.

The two Georgia congressmen, Brown and Gingrey, are expected to face off against Reps. Tom Price (R-GA) and Jack Kingston (R-GA), in a 2014 primary for a Senate seat that will be vacated by Saxby Chambliss. Price and Kingston both voted for the budget.

All four men voted for the significantly more draconian Republican Study Committee alternative on Wednesday. That measure failed 104-132. If it had passed, it would have supplanted the party’s official budget. Nearly all Democrats voted present, to lower the threshold for passage, pitting conservative Republicans against one another, and forcing GOP leadership to orchestrate its failure.

No comments yet - you can be the first!

Comments are closed.

Do you Love your country but hate your government?

Join your fellow Libertarians who seek a world of liberty; a world in which all individuals are sovereign over their own lives and no one is forced to sacrifice his or her values for the benefit of others. Join over 500,000 Americans who get their daily dose of minimal government and maximum freedom with The New Liberty Movement.

We know how important your privacy is and your information is SAFE with us. We’ll never sell
your email address and you can unsubscribe at any time directly from your inbox.
View our full privacy policy.