12 Republican senators defy Trump on emergency declaration

Twelve Senate Republicans from different corners of the party banded together Thursday to deliver President Trump the biggest rebuke of his presidency, voting to disapprove of his emergency declaration for the Southern border.

The Republican rebels joined every single Senate Democrat in the chamber in voting to block Trump’s emergency declaration, which grants him access to $3.6 billion in military construction funding to build border barriers.
The vote brought together prominent moderates — Sens. Susan Collins (R-Maine) and Lisa Murkowski (R-Alaska) — and staunch conservatives — Sens. Rand Paul (R-Ky.) and Mike Lee (R-Utah) — as well as other Republicans who fall between them on the ideological spectrum.

The resolution also won the support of three of Senate Majority Leader Mitch McConnell’s (R-Ky.) most trusted advisers on policy issues: Sens. Rob Portman (R-Ohio) and Pat Toomey (R-Pa.), members of the Finance Committee who are considered experts on trade and tax policy, and Sen. Lamar Alexander (R-Tenn.), an authority on a range of topics.

No comments yet - you can be the first!

Comments are closed.

Do you Love your country but hate your government?

Join your fellow Libertarians who seek a world of liberty; a world in which all individuals are sovereign over their own lives and no one is forced to sacrifice his or her values for the benefit of others. Join over 500,000 Americans who get their daily dose of minimal government and maximum freedom with The New Liberty Movement.

We know how important your privacy is and your information is SAFE with us. We’ll never sell
your email address and you can unsubscribe at any time directly from your inbox.
View our full privacy policy.